At the moment, the testing methodologies available to measure gluten for non-fermented food products are accepted by the FDA, but these testing methodologies are not accepted by the FDA for fermented or hydrolyzed products and have not yet been shown to be valid to quantify the gluten content in fermented and hydrolyzed products. The Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB), which oversees gluten labeling for alcoholic beverages in the U.S., recently ruled that brewed products made from gluten-containing grains cannot make a gluten-free claim, but we are allowed to make a claim that a product is crafted to remove gluten with a disclaimer that there may be traces of gluten in mike’s HARDER beverages as the gluten content cannot be verified. Disclaimer: mike’s HARDER is fermented from grains that contain gluten and crafted to remove gluten. The gluten content cannot be verified, and this product may contain gluten.
Why do mike’s HARDER products say Crafted to Remove Gluten instead of Gluten Free? Print
Modified on: Tue, Jun 14, 2022 at 4:12 PM
Did you find it helpful?Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.